2 July, 2022

Fernando Belasteguín and Sanyo Gutiérrez, the world number two pairing, win the Estrella Damm Valencia Open by 7-5 / 3-6 / 6-4.

World number two pairing Fernando Belasteguín and Sanyo Gutiérrez have won the final of the Estrella Damm Valencia Open against the number one pairing formed by Juan Lebrón and Ale Galán.

All this after a thrilling and unprecedented match for padel lovers, as they hadn’t faced each other yet this season.

Source; WPT

With two and three tournaments, respectively this year for each pair, the equality in the ranking and successes of the year made us foresee a very disputed match.

A match that had been a long time coming, but which we finally had the privilege of witnessing.

A first set marked by the equality that we could anticipate. Both pairings resorted to golden points at some point to defend their serve, but it was only when the score was 5-5 that Belasteguín and Sanyo would take the final blow, winning 7-5.

The second set was the moment of resurrection for the number ones and this time they managed to impose their game and not fall into the strategy of their rivals to take the match to their ground.

From 4-2 they led on the scoreboard, as well as in the game, and with a 6-3 they took this thriller to the third and final set.

Source; WPT

Lebron and Galan seemed to take the lead and began to generate breakpoints in their favour, but on two occasions Belasteguin and Sanyo lifted a 15-40 deficit to stay alive in the match.

The Argentineans, after overcoming the blows of Lebron and Galan, took their chance and in the tenth game they found the prize they were looking for.

A definitive 6-4 to beat the number one pairing and proclaim themselves champions of the Estrella Damm Valencia Open 2021.

A crazy match that could have gone either way, but on this occasion, the balance fell on the side of the Argentines.

Javier Rosado Fernández
Coordinator of


Ver todos los posts

Añadir comentario

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Patrocinadores Oficiales